User Roles & Capabilities

Groundhogg separates most of its functionality into user roles and various capabilities. Below we describe what roles are included.

Administrator

The administrator will always have full privileges and will be able to access anything Groundhogg related.

This includes any settings, as well as editing any contacts. Only give this role to a select few people as everything could be changed when someone has this role.

Marketer

The Marketer role is similar to the existing Editor role in WordPress but with full Groundhogg permissions.

This role is useful if you have a team member who you want to manage Groundhogg, but do not want to provide full access to the site.

Sales Manager

Sales managers can see and manage all the contacts on the list, but do not have access to marketing critical components such as broadcasts, reports, or funnels.

Sales Representative

Sales representatives can only see and manage their own contacts. They cannot delete contacts, only add.

Capabilities Table

Capability Administrator Marketer Sales Manager Sales Rep
schedule_broadcasts ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
cancel_broadcasts ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_broadcasts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
add_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_others_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
view_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_others_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
delete_contacts ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_others_contacts ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
import_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
export_contacts ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
add_emails ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_emails ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
delete_emails ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
edit_emails ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
send_emails ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
export_emails ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
import_emails ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
execute_events ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
cancel_events ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
schedule_events ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_events ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
add_funnels ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_funnels ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
delete_funnels ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
edit_funnels ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
export_funnels ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
import_funnels ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
add_tags ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_tags ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
edit_tags ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
manage_tags ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_tags ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_reports ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
export_reports ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
perform_bulk_actions ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
manage_gh_licenses ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
edit_custom_properties ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
manage_campaigns ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
download_files ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_files ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_previous_imports ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_previous_exports ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
download_contact_files ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_logs ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_logs ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
add_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
delete_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
delete_others_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
edit_others_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
view_others_notes ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
add_activity ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
view_activity ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
edit_activity ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_activity ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
Sales Pipeline
Capability Administrator Marketer Sales Manager Sales Rep
add_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_others_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
view_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_others_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ❌
delete_deals ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
delete_others_deals ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌
won_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
lost_deals ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
Booking Calendar
Capability Administrator Marketer Sales Manager Sales Rep
add_appointment ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
edit_appointment ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
view_appointment ✅ ✅ ✅ ✅
delete_appointment ✅ ✅ ❌ ❌

The capability that allows users to view all contacts, not just the ones they are the owner of is view_others_contacts so if you are providing this capability to users they'll see all the contacts.

Currently, the Contact → Owner relationship is 1:1 so if you want one contact to be assigned to multiple people you'll either have to allow those users to view all contacts, or consider having them share a user account.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us